Personal Injury Solicitors across Yorkshire, Teesside and County Durham

Our Personal Injury team believes it is important that you have the opportunity to deal with a local specialist solicitor who you can meet face to face. If you have been injured and it was not your fault, it can be a very difficult, unsettling time.

Our clients regularly tell us how important it is to feel that they have someone on their side – someone approachable and available when they need to talk.

At Newtons we believe it is vital that you have the opportunity to deal with highly experienced specialist solicitors who you can meet you face to face and guide you through your claim to achieve the right outcome for you. All our personal injury cases are managed by an individual solicitor that will get to know your situation inside out.

We do not deal with bulk claims.

So if you have suffered a personal injury whether a dental claim, road traffic or a workplace injury, that wasn’t your fault – we are ready to help.

What will happen if I have been injured?

We will sit down with you to explain the claims process and how a personal injury case progresses.

We are experienced in working on a diverse range of personal injury claims including road traffic accidents, slips and trips, accidents in the workplace and even dog bites and dental injury claims. Your claim will be in safe hands.

Accidents at work

Have you had a slip or fall at work? Been injured as a result of a work process or piece of machinery? Your employer has a duty to take care of you whilst you are at work.  If they have breached this duty and you have suffered an injury, you may be entitled to compensation.

Other accidents and illnesses

Business, shops and councils have a duty to take care of people who use their services or enter their premises.  You may have a claim for compensation if you have been injured through someone else’s actions. This could be through a slip or trip, a dog bite or even food poisoning for example.

Road traffic accidents

If you have been involved in a road traffic accident that wasn’t your fault, then you may be entitled to compensation if you have suffered injury. You may have been a passenger in a car or a bus, a cyclist or even a pedestrian that has been involved in an accident with another vehicle.

Dental claims

Has a delayed diagnosis or misdiagnosis led to worsening of your symptoms or the need for further unnecessary dental work? Has the dental work you received been of such a poor standard that you may have to instruct another dentist to put right the mistakes of the first? If so, you may have a claim for compensation to pay for remedial treatment and compensate you for the pain and suffering you have been caused.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

What is no win, no fee?

This means that if your claim succeeds you will only pay your legal fees from the money you are awarded. If your claim is unsuccessful there are no fees to pay; there is no financial cost to you in starting the claim.

There are rare circumstances when our fees become payable by you in any event (for instance if you are made bankrupt) and we will discuss these with you at our first meeting.

What percentage of my compensation will go towards legal fees?

At most you will have to pay 25% of any compensation you are awarded towards your legal costs. This is capped by law so you won’t pay more than this.

I don’t want to waste your time, can I call for a chat first?

Yes, of course we are more than happy to have a have an initial chat on the phone to see if your claim is something we can help you with and to answer any queries you have.

How long do I have to make a claim?

Generally you have three years from the time the accident happened. There are exceptions in relation to this, for example timescales are longer where the claimant is a child. The timescales are shorter where the accident happened on a ship or airplane.

Please call us as soon as possible so that we can advise you of the time limits that apply to your case.

Our personal injury team is here to help.

Please call us to find out how we can help. We can talk on the phone or  arrange a meeting where we can discuss your options and give you a clear idea of timeframes and costs.

Alternatively, please contact us online and we’ll call you back when it’s convenient for you.

 

Key Contacts

Mark Allison

01482 235388

Mark.allison@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Helen Forster

01423 789050

helen.forster@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Helen Stenton

Helen Stenton

01325 250111

helen.stenton@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Leon Lurie Senior Solicitor

Leon Lurie

01482 235388

leon.lurie@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Dominic Hudson

Dominic Hudson

01482 235388

dominic.hudson@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Jackie Howard

Jackie Howard

01642 262840

jackie.howard@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

James McEwen

01325 250111

james.mcewen@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Andrew Cawkwell

0191 3896411

andrew.cawkwell@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Elizabeth Whitaker

01748 850950

elizabeth.whitaker@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Hollie Burne

01609 765570

hollie@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Nicola Merson

01325 250111

nicola.merson@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Jack Stainthorpe

01325 250111

jack.stainthorpe@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Dorothy Price

01845 522891

dorothy.price@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Glenn Holden

01482 235388

glenn.holden@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Sophie Barton

01423 789050

sophie.barton@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Julie Fawcett

01765 607200

julie.fawcett@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Abigail Noone

01609 765570

abigail.noone@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Jacqui Foley

01642 711354

jacqui@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Joanne Jackson Solicitor Newtons Stokesley

Joanne Jackson

01642 711 354

joanne.jackson@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Claire Weatherley Wright Newtons Ripon

Claire Weatherley-Wright

01904 409071

claire.weatherley-wright@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Malcolm Jones Solicitor Newtons Knaresborough

Malcolm Jones

01423 789050

malcolm@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Paul Hargreaves

01325 250111

paul.hargreaves@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Rachel Robinson Senior Solicitor Newtons Knaresborough

Rachel Brooks

01423 789050

Rachel.brooks@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Sonia Hunter Solicitor Newtons Stokesley

Sonia Hunter

01642 711354

Sonia.hunter@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
David Birks LLP Partner Newtons Darlington

David Birks

01609 765570

david.birks@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Chris Newton Managing Director Newtons Solicitors

Chris Newton

01423 789050

chris@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Oliver Hebden Solicitor Newtons Stokesley

Oliver Hebdon

01642 711354

oliver.hebdon@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Paula Warburton LLP Partner Newtons Stokesley

Paula Warburton

01642 711354

paula@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Rachel Baul Senior Solicitor Newtons Knaresborough

Rachel Baul

01423 789050

rachel.baul@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Alex Thompson Associate Solicitor Newtons Knaresborough

Alex Thompson

01423 789050

alex.thompson@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
David Lucas LLP Partner Newtons Darlington

David Lucas

01325 731974

david.lucas@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Stephen Fallon Solicitor Newtons Knaresborough

Stephen Fallon

01423 789050

stephen@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Monika Williams Legal Executive Newtons Richmond

Monika Williams

01748 850950

monika@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Hayley Edwards

01423 789050

hayley.edwards@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
James Towler Director Newtons Knaresborough

James Towler

01423 789050

james@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

Frances Maxwell

01609 765570

fran@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Ben Cauldwell Director Newtons Richmond

Ben Cauldwell

01765 607200

ben@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Howard Meynell Partner Newtons Thirsk

Howard Meynell

01845 522891

howard.meynell@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Catherine Leftwich Solicitor Newtons Knaresborough

Catherine Leftwich

01765 607200

catherine.leftwich@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Carolynn Greenwood Solicitor Newtons Knaresborough

Carolyn Greenwood

01423 789050

carolyn@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Meryn Astwood Director Newtons Knaresborough

Meryn Astwood

01423 789050

meryn@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Martin Donnelly Solicitor Newtons Stokesley

Martin Donnelly

01642 711354

martin@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Claire Armer LLP Partner Newtons Richmond

Claire Armer

01748 850950

claire.armer@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
John Paice Director Newtons Solicitors York

John Paice

01904 409071

john@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile
Richard Parker LLP Partner Newtons Stokesley

Richard Parker

01642 711354

richard.parker@newtons.co.uk

View Full Profile

General Enquiries

Personal Injury Team